Japan’s north eastern Tohoku region spans six prefectures: Aomori, Akita, Iwate, Yamagata, Miyagi and Fukushima. The area is known for its beautiful landscape of mountains and lakes, its volcanic hot springs and for the historic architecture and landmarks that can be found there.

Visitors to the beautiful rural Iwate Prefecture can lose themselves in the mysteries and wonders of Tono, the home of Japanese folklore, while few destinations are as relaxing as the streets of Yamagata Prefecture’s Ginzan Onsen, an old-fashioned onsen hot-spring town popular with those who wish to literally immerse themselves in Japanese history.

If you love exploring the great outdoors then look no further than Fukushima Prefecture, where you can hike through the stunning Oze National Park and take in the picturesque volcanic highlands of Bandai by boat. Alternatively, why not schedule your trip to coincide with the Kamakura Snow House Festival of Yokote in Akita Prefecture, or for the colourful Nebuta Matsuri Festival held in towns around Aomori?

Scroll to Top